brattleborowestartsdotcom


An Experiment by slaia
January 19, 2015, 1:23 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Billboard #1

Thanks to an internet search, I discovered a source of used billboards. They are 8′ x 12′, and thus provide a lot of raw material, but you can’t select the design you will receive. My billboard advertised an air show in Chicago. This is my first attempt to use pieces of it to make a collage, which was shown to a select group last night at our annual meeting.

While the adhesives I used were a bit disappointing, I was pleased to discover that I can draw with felt tip markers and paint with acrylics on the vinyl. The bold graphics of the original material lend the collage a power that my work usually would not exhibit. I think it’s humorous that I’m importing billboards to Vermont, where they are not permitted on the roadside.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

So sorry I missed your showing! How large is it?

Comment by jackieabrams




Leave a Reply

