brattleborowestartsdotcom


A Community of Artists by Karen Kamenetzky
February 3, 2011, 8:33 pm
Filed under: Artist, Community

by Karen Kamenetzky

I seem to be on a roll writing about why I love the community I live in and specifically how that influences my art.

The Spaces Between I

The Spaces Between I

A little over a year ago a neighbor had the idea of creating a group of artists from my area of West Brattleboro, VT. My first reaction was skepticism that there were enough local artists to sustain a group.

Boy was I wrong. All kinds of creative folks were living within a few miles of me and came crawling (figuratively) out of the woods! Brattleboro West Arts has evolved into a cohesive largish group of artists working in numerous media; paint, glass, sculpture, fiber, ceramics and more. Our monthly potluck/meetings are opportunities to share our work, our struggles as artists, marketing ideas and lots of great food! I’ve come to really value getting to know these neighbors and learning from them.

This fall we will have our third Studio Tour (more on that later) and the caliber of talent is amazing. Ideas for future joint ventures are percolating. There’s a real feeling of possibility. I find this all feeds me as an artist and helps keep me charged up about my own work.

I wonder how unusual this is for artists working in various disciplines to join together based on sharing the same neighborhood. Has anyone else had this experience?

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Yes! Thanks for starting this, Karen. I, too, was impressed at how many people came out of the woods west of Brattleboro and are now creating together, in a sense. We are truly a creative community, like most places. If only there were an impetus to move other communities to find each other.

I do not think it very unusual for artisans from all different media to work together. I read about it in the woodworking world all the time – with quilters, with stone carvers, with painters, with metalworkers. Hopefully we can help encourage more of this community building in the years to come.

Jason

Comment by Jason Breen

I think our new venture into cross-media critique groups will also hopefully help percolate new creative ideas!

Comment by Karen Kamenetzky

Karen, this is excellent! Thanks for taking the initiative and for your contribution. One question: Can any of us log in to add a post and if so, what are the steps needed?

Comment by Michael Weitzner

Hi Michael,
Thanks for your appreciation! Let me know your WordPress username once you sign up and I’ll add you to be an “author” of the BWA blog. If just 5 or 6 of us would post once a month, it would be an active, interesting blog.

Comment by Karen Kamenetzky

To all who read this. Karen was a great teacher in instructing me how to use this site and write my first post. It is a great way to communicate. See you Sunday at Walter’s.

Comment by krismcdermet

And Kris was a persevering student! We worked most of the kinks out. I hope more BWAsters are excited to jump in!

Comment by Karen Kamenetzky




Leave a Reply

